Keynote Speakers

Keynote Speakers 2017

Confirmed Keynotes

Jack Archer, CEO, Regional Australia Institute

Jack Archer has been with the Regional Australia Institute (RAI) since its inception in 2012, and developed the RAI’s policy and research program including major products such as [In]Sight: Australia’s Regional Competitiveness Index and [In]Form: Australia’s Online Library of Regional Research. Jack took up the role as Chief Executive Officer on 1 July 2015.

In previous roles as a consultant and public servant, Jack contributed to major regional reforms in water, climate change, indigenous issues and industry.

Jack holds a Bachelor of Natural Resource Management (Hons 1) from the University of New England and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Originally from Paterson in the lower Hunter Valley of NSW, he now lives in the hills west of Canberra.

Ms Suzette Jackson, Executive Director, Bioregional Australia

Suzette joined Bioregional Australia in early 2016 as the executive officer, leading the organization through a transition re-establishing the international One Planet Living framework in Australia, while working closely with Bioregional Development Group in the UK on the international platform.

Suzette brings a wealth of experience in sustainable environments across commercial, residential, governance and community sectors through a number of senior roles in corporate professional services and social enterprises, including the establishment of the Living Future Institute Australia in 2012 as a founding Director and Executive Officer and consulting organization Innate Ecology.

Suzette has provided advisory services across the food system, local governance, academia and built environment at multiple scales, including consulting, teaching and training roles for the Green Building Council of Australia, Bioregional (UK), Innate Ecology, Deakin University and HASSELL.

Melina Morrison, CEO, Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals

Melina Morrison is the inaugural CEO of Australia’s first peak body for co-operatives and mutuals, the Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals. She is an advocate for all forms of mutually owned enterprise, regularly contributing commentary and appearing as a spokesperson for the sector. Melina has commissioned, edited and co-written the sector’s first national mapping reports.

Melina’s former roles in the co-operative sector include five years as editor of the flagship publication for the global peak body, the International Co-operative Alliance (ICA). Melina wrote the message platform for the ICA’s global strategy, Blueprint for a Co-operative Decade. Her advocacy work for the sector resulted in Australia minting a coin commemorating the International Year of Co-operatives in 2012.

Melina was also successful in lobbying for a Senate inquiry into the co-operative and mutual business sector, which handed down its report on the 17 March 2016. In August, Melina was named on an eight person advisory group to ensure the implementation of a $14.9 million Federal government programme to provide farmers with knowledge and materials on co-operatives.

Other Confirmed Keynotes

  • Cr Col Murray, Deputy Chair, Regional Capitals Australia & Mayor, Tamworth Regional Council
  • Professor Wendy Umberger, Executive Director, Centre for Global Food & Resources (GFAR), University of Adelaide

Invited Keynotes

  • Mr John Rolfe, Professor of Regional Economic Development, School of Business and Law, CQ University,  Rockhampton
  • Minister John Barilo, Deputy Premier, Minister for Regional NSW, Minister for Skills, Minister for Small Business, NSW Government
  • Ms Alexandra Gartmann, CEO & Managing Director, Rural Bank
  • Dr Anthony (Tony) Marxsen, Chairman – Board, Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)

The Conference Program Committee would like to thank our 2016 keynotes.

  • Dr David Fleming, Research Economist, CSIRO
  • Mr Sean Gordon, Chief Executive Officer, Darkinjung Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Ms Nicky Ison and Jarra Hicks, Founding Directors, Community Power Agency
  • Mr Michael Kilgariff, Managing Director, Australian Logistics Council
  • Associate Professor Simon McArthur, Deputy Chair, Australian Regional Tourism Network
  • Mr Warwick Powell, Founder and Chairman, Sister City Partners Ltd

Comments are closed