Innovation Awards 2017

2017 Innovation Award Winners

Mayor Denise Knight from Coffs Harbour City Council and Hayley Pena from the Association of Sustainability in Business and Award Sponsors were delighted to announce the winners and runners up of the 2017 Regional Development Innovation Awards at the Conference Welcome Reception on Monday 11 September at Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort.

The Regional Development Innovation Awards recognise and showcase organisations and individuals who demonstrate innovation related to economic development, planning and building, environment and sustainability, community development and leadership.

The Regional Development Innovation Awards are a joint initiative of the 2017 Australian Regional Development Conference and the Association for Sustainability in Business Inc.

Proudly sponsored by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development 

Winner:  Mr Stephen Saunders from Coffs Harbour City Council for their project 6 Degrees Coffs Harbour

Runner Up:  Bathurst Regional Council for their projects BizWeek & Bathurst Jobs Expo

Proudly sponsored by TAFE NSW

Winner: Lavinia Dack from Economic Development Queensland for their project The Village – Townsville

Runner Up: Mr James Brann from Charles Sturt University for their Outreach Program

Proudly sponsored by the Association for Sustainability in Business 

Winner: Leisa Davies from Port Macquarie-Hastings Council for their project Innovation in Sealed Roads Maintenance

Runner Up: Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council for their Regional Integrated Transport Strategy 2017-2021

Proudly sponsored by Energy Action

Winner: Dr Nigel Barrett from Airofresh Pty Ltd

Runner Up: Mrs Liz Veitch & Mr Craig Hanicek from Regional Development Australia ACT for their projects Renewable Energy Trail & SERREE

Proudly sponsored by THE Rural Woman 

Winner: Mrs Katrina Baddeley from Victorian Regional Community Leadership Programs Secretariat Inc

Runner Up: Mrs Jacqueline Donoghue from Lively Linseed Products

2017 submitted nominations

The submitted nominations for the 2017 Regional Development Innovation Awards was outstanding quality. The Judges would like to thank the following organisations for their valued contribution in the process:

  • Alternative Body Works Pty Ltd
  • Articulous Communications
  • Australian Women in Agriculture
  • Bathurst Regional Council
  • BIG4 Sunshine Resort
  • Bioregional Australia Foundation
  • Central West Farming Systems Inc (CWFS)
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • City of Karratha
  • Coffs Harbour City Council
  • CRT Tech Pty Ltd
  • Developing East Arnhem Limited
  • Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council
  • Economic Development Queensland
  • Gladstone Regional Council
  • Ipswich City Council
  • KA Rural Enterprises
  • Kalleske Wines
  • Kimberley Small Business Support
  • Lively Linseed Products
  • Local Land Services
  • Lower Murray Water
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Narara Ecovillage Cooperative Ltd
  • Newcastle City Council
  • Port Macquarie Hastings Council
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
  • Regional Development Australia (RDA) Brisbane Inc
  • Regional Development Australia ACT
  • Roper Gulf Regional Council
  • Royal Far West
  • Victorian Regional Community Leadership Programs Secretariat Inc (VRCLP)
  • Wine In A Glass Pty Ltd
  • Wynlen House Slow Food Farm

We appreciate the time and consideration provided by our Award judges:

  • Natalie Egleton, CEO, Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal (FRRR)
  • Tony McBurney, Director, Integrated Design Group – Chair
  • Peter Sugg, CEO, Association for Sustainability in Business Inc.

Comments are closed