Keynote Presenters 2019

Mr Paris Aristotle, Chair, The Settlement Services Advisory Council (SSAC)
Mr Paris Aristotle, Chair, The Settlement Services Advisory Council (SSAC)
Find out more...

Paris Aristotle AO is the Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture Inc., also known as Foundation House, a position which he has held for the past 30 years. Throughout this period he has served on a wide range of state and federal government bodies. From 2012 – 2018 Paris Chaired the Prime Minister’s Expert Panel on Asylum Seekers. He is currently the Chair of the Settlement Services Advisory Council (SSAC). He is also an executive member of the Forum of Australian Services for Survivors of Torture and Trauma (FASSTT). In 2017 Paris was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) and named the 2017 Victorian Australian of the Year. In the same year Paris was presented with an Honorary Doctorate from RMIT and in 2003 he was awarded an Australian Centenary Medal. Paris is supported by the Foundation House Agency Management Team and Board of Management.

Ms Gabrielle Chan, Author, Rusted Off
Find out more...

Gabrielle Chan has been a journalist for more than 30 years. She began covering politics since the 1990s for The Australian in NSW parliament and the Canberra press gallery. Since 2013, she has worked for Guardian Australia as a political correspondent and Politics Live blogger. Gabrielle has also worked at ABC radio, the Daily Telegraph, in local newspapers and politics. She has written and edited histories and biographies.

The city-born daughter of a Singaporean migrant, Gabrielle moved to a sheep and wheat farm near Harden Murrumburrah in 1996. She noticed the economic and cultural divide between city and country and the yawning gap between parliament and small town life. The result is Rusted Off: Why Country Australia is Fed Up.


Mr Mark Jamieson, Mayor, Sunshine Coast Council
The Hon Michael McCormack, Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development
Mr Sanjeev Gupta, Executive Chairman & CEO, GFG Alliance

Professor John Rolfe, Professor of Regional Economic Development, CQ University